Page 1 of 1
NetStuffPlugin (SNMP, Ping etc)
Posted: April 5th, 2006, 12:05 am
by Philg
Ok folks, this is my first LCD Smartie plugin.
NetStuffPlugin provides two main functions:
- SNMP Get (query) for reading values from SNMP enabled devices.
Ping for pinging an internet/network host and returning the response time.
There are several other functions designed for formatitng the data.
- A general value replace function, given a value, and a lookup table, replaces the value with the appropriate string. For example allowing you to convert 1 to Online, 2 to Offline.... etc
Several number formatting (including Seconds to Uptime, Hundredth's of seconds to Uptime, Milliseconds to Uptime, Bytes to formatted bytes(Gb, Mb, Kb, b)) for formatting values returned from SNMP devices.
Full funciton descriptions including input/output parameters included in the package.
Several sample strings also included.
Please note: To use the SNMP function you must understand SNMP and OID's I will not be providing OID informaiton - your device should document this, and you can get plenty of SNMP walkers to see whats available.
Download it from my downloads page:
http://www.highrez.co.uk/downloads (Select NetStuffPlugin from the list of downloads - near the bottom of the list!)
Requires .Net 2.0
Thanks,
Phil
Minor update
Posted: April 20th, 2006, 1:48 am
by Philg
Ive made a small modification to my plugin.
It now supports SNMP Gauge32 value types - I found it didn't when I wanted to report my ADSL router's line sync speed.
Anyway, the download on my site is updated for the new version.
Nothing else has changed.
Thanks,
Phil
Posted: November 3rd, 2006, 10:06 pm
by twhyman
thanks i really love this plugin

Posted: November 12th, 2006, 9:57 pm
by Philg
I've just made a new version, with 2 extra functions to get the difference on SNMP value compared to the previous call.
This can be used to generate a bytes per second given a byte counter. or any other SNMP counter, converted into <units> per second.
It can be downloaded from my site above.
Thanks,
Phil
Posted: June 8th, 2007, 1:24 am
by Jabroni
Thanks for your script! Ive been trying to get generate a speed counter for my linksys router flashed with dd-wrt. What functions would I require to process the ifOutOctets and ifInOctets and it would give me output of the current upload/download speed?
Posted: June 9th, 2007, 6:15 am
by Jabroni
Philg wrote:I've just made a new version, with 2 extra functions to get the difference on SNMP value compared to the previous call.
This can be used to generate a bytes per second given a byte counter. or any other SNMP counter, converted into <units> per second.
It can be downloaded from my site above.
Thanks,
Phil
Just checked the readme and I dont see any information regardnig those functions, and I tried to manually use the next consecutive functions on the DLL but I get an error that the function was not found. Did you updated the .dll on your webserver ??
Cant wait to have my router speeds on my lcd scrolling.. heheh
Thanks!
- Jabroni
Posted: June 13th, 2007, 7:39 pm
by Philg
Hi,
Thanks for pointing that out, Ive just realised I never uploaded the new version properly.
I have done so now, so download it again and it should have the information for the two new functions.
Sorry it took so long to reply, I was on vacation and I forgot. The PM reminded me
Thanks,
Phil
Posted: June 14th, 2007, 6:41 am
by Jabroni
Thanks! I just downloaded the new dll.. it worked great!
Heres the line im using to call the Up/Down calculation (i used the math plugin to cut the digits, since the method on this plugin to conver it to Kb/Mb etc throws an exception if I use the output of the diference calculation, so i manually did the /1024 to always show KB/s)
D:$dll(math,9,$dll(NetStuffPlugin.dll,11,$dll(NetStuffPlugin.dll,12,192.168.5.1:public,1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.10.

,1024),)KB/s U:$dll(math,9,$dll(NetStuffPlugin.dll,11,$dll(NetStuffPlugin.dll,12,192.168.5.1:public,1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.16.

,1024),)KB/s
Hope that helps to other ppl..
Posted: June 16th, 2007, 4:09 pm
by Philg
Woa, my function to convert from Kb to Mb throws an exception? really?
Do you mean funciton 7? because that is intended to convert a number of bytes to a formatted string with Kb Gb Mb etc.. not to convert kilobytes to something else?
If its really a problem in my plugin, give me more details (an example would be good) and I will try and fix it
Thanks,
Phil
Posted: June 16th, 2007, 6:36 pm
by Jabroni
Well I thought I could use that function to convert the speed counter.. since its on bits/s the return of the differencial used to calculate the speed. So I thought of using your other fucntion so instead of 1024Kbyes/s it would display 1M and I would just append the /s string... or how do you show ur speed on your lcd? Maybe my logic is a bit ambigous hehe
Posted: June 17th, 2007, 12:44 am
by Philg
I have to confess, I'm not using the speed in the LCD display... I do make use of functions 7 for displaying the Up/Down total bytes but I'm not displaying any bytes/sec.
I'll try and have a look tomorrow and see if I can figure out what's wrong, but at least you have a working solution
Thanks,
Phil