Page 1 of 1
.NET Framework 4.0 problem
Posted: November 15th, 2009, 2:04 pm
by Andrew
After installing .NET Framework 4.0 (with Visual Studio 2010 beta 2) I couldn't load my plugins written in .NET 3.5. LCD Smartie shows this error:
Code: Select all
---------------------------
LCD Smartie
---------------------------
Load of plugin failed: Plugin Monitor.dll had an exception during Init: External exception E0434F4D
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------
On my LCD is something like this:
I've tried to rebuild my plugins in VS 2010 but still the same error....
Any ideas?
Re: .NET Framework 4.0 problem
Posted: November 15th, 2009, 4:02 pm
by limbo
I'm going to test it....
although I'm afraid that Microsoft does good job out there I believe that something is not supported on the new version...
I'll "hit you" back with my results
Re: .NET Framework 4.0 problem
Posted: November 16th, 2009, 12:07 am
by Andrew
I don't know where to start. After uninstalling .NET Framework 4.0 all works fine. Code is still the same.
I've noticed one thing - plugins are working in the background but they can't return any string to LCD Smartie.
Re: .NET Framework 4.0 problem
Posted: November 16th, 2009, 8:00 am
by limbo
I didn't tested yet, but can you check the following?
Try to create a brand new project and select framework 3.0 from visual studio menu, then add source code from a well working plugin to this project and compile it.
What is the result?
Re: .NET Framework 4.0 problem
Posted: November 17th, 2009, 5:58 pm
by Andrew
Still the same problem. I've created a .NET 2.0 and 3.0 project, compiled it and run under LCD Smartie.
Re: .NET Framework 4.0 problem
Posted: November 17th, 2009, 7:49 pm
by limbo
I just created a new plugin on visual studio 2010 beta 2
it seems to work fine for me
LCD Smartie 5.4 Setup.jpg
I attach the source and the compiled plugin as well
Give it a try
Re: .NET Framework 4.0 problem
Posted: November 17th, 2009, 8:13 pm
by Andrew
Well....it's in VB and my is in C#. Could you try this?
Re: .NET Framework 4.0 problem
Posted: November 17th, 2009, 9:07 pm
by limbo
I just tried the compiled dll... works like a charm!
look the third line on the following image
c test.jpg
Re: .NET Framework 4.0 problem
Posted: November 17th, 2009, 11:31 pm
by Andrew
The third line contains a polish char so it's normal
So I see that something is wrong with my system (Win 7 Pro)....but I'll try to repair it somehow....thanks a lot!
Re: .NET Framework 4.0 problem
Posted: November 18th, 2009, 11:48 pm
by Andrew
On a clean installation of Windows 7 and VS2010 I have the same error :/ Could someone with Win 7 and VS2010 check this?
Re: .NET Framework 4.0 problem
Posted: January 3rd, 2010, 10:37 pm
by limbo
Just tested windows 7 and VS2010 and I get error in every plugin I use.... This seems to be something caused by Framework 4.
I'll make some tests more and hit you back with the results
Update: Removing Framework 4 beta seems to fix the plugin problem. Unfortunately Visual Studio is not loading after that (which seems to be a normal behaviour while an essential part is missing)
Re: .NET Framework 4.0 problem
Posted: January 6th, 2010, 10:20 pm
by Andrew
limbo wrote:
Update: Removing Framework 4 beta seems to fix the plugin problem.
I know that

But for me, it's not an solution...
I saw, that after installing .NET 4.0, 3.5 is missing (but other programs written for 3.5 are workin'). Also, .NET 2.0 has something called NGEN, in 3.5 it's missing, but in 4.0 it's in the system.
Re: .NET Framework 4.0 problem
Posted: January 7th, 2010, 9:00 pm
by limbo
Andrew wrote: But for me, it's not an solution...
for me either

I 'm going back to Visual Studio 2008 until the final 2010 release.
Re: .NET Framework 4.0 problem
Posted: February 22nd, 2010, 7:41 pm
by Andrew
OK. I have an solution from MS Connect:
There's not much we can do now about the runtime activation implementation in 4.0. It may be possible to work around the Windows behavior with a hack but given where we are in the product cycle this is very unlikely to happen.
However, if you don't mind running LCD Smartie managed plugins in .NET 4.0, you can configure the app so by adding the following config file (named LCDSmartie.exe.config):
<configuration>
<startup useLegacyV2RuntimeActivationPolicy="true">
<supportedRuntime version="v4.0" />
</startup>
</configuration>
Also you can read
other solutions
Re: .NET Framework 4.0 problem
Posted: May 29th, 2010, 4:42 am
by spauka
Hi All,
Ive been having the same issue trying to load plugins into LCD smartie on my end too.
I've managed to trace the problem to DNBridge.dll. My theory is that microsoft might have changed some internal representation of classes or functions or something in their latest version.
I managed to solve this issue by recompiling DNBridge myself from source.
Ive attached the version I compiled with Visual Studio 2010, and on Windows 7.
In addition, the source code is available here:
http://www.axcis.com.au/bb/viewtopic.php?t=82
if you would like to recompile yourself.
Please confirm that solved the issue for you too...
Thanks
Re: .NET Framework 4.0 problem
Posted: June 1st, 2010, 1:25 pm
by limbo
Thats Great news!
Although it causes errors on XP with 3.5 framework, I think its a solution on (Windows 7) framework 4 based systems... I have to try it
Thanks for your support! Keep on Pal
Re: .NET Framework 4.0 problem
Posted: June 25th, 2010, 4:32 pm
by NBJack
spauka wrote:Hi All,
Ive been having the same issue trying to load plugins into LCD smartie on my end too.
I've managed to trace the problem to DNBridge.dll. My theory is that microsoft might have changed some internal representation of classes or functions or something in their latest version.
I managed to solve this issue by recompiling DNBridge myself from source.
Ive attached the version I compiled with Visual Studio 2010, and on Windows 7.
In addition, the source code is available here:
http://www.axcis.com.au/bb/viewtopic.php?t=82
if you would like to recompile yourself.
Please confirm that solved the issue for you too...
Thanks
Thanks for the hard work; unfortunately, your new DLL ends up crashing LCD Smartie once my plugin loads. :/
I'm running out of options here. None of the existing performance plugins available can handle all performance counters under Windows 7 64-bit, and I can't get my own to interface with LCD Smartie without the dreaded "No Bridge Func" message.
Any other suggestions?
Re: .NET Framework 4.0 problem
Posted: July 1st, 2010, 1:07 pm
by limbo
limbo wrote:Thats Great news!
Although it causes errors on XP with 3.5 framework, I think its a solution on (Windows 7) framework 4 based systems... I have to try it
Thanks for your support! Keep on Pal
Coming back with
more bad news... Microsoft released an update few days ago which seems to cause all plugins (.net based) to crash on windows 7. So now any updated Win7 PC should not be able to load .net based plugins...

Re: .NET Framework 4.0 problem
Posted: July 1st, 2010, 1:35 pm
by spauka
limbo wrote:Coming back with more bad news... Microsoft released an update few days ago which seems to cause all plugins (.net based) to crash on windows 7. So now any updated Win7 PC should not be able to load .net based plugins...

Hey, Im testing on my PC, with windows 7, fully updated, using a recompiled DNBridge and I'm afraid I cannot replicate the issue. It all seems to be working fine for me...
Re: .NET Framework 4.0 problem
Posted: July 2nd, 2010, 10:07 pm
by limbo
maybe it caused by visual studio updates...

I'll take a closer look during next days about the latest updates installed on my PC... and i will inform you
Edit:
I'm back with some screen shots from my system:
updates.png
And more info (

) on the following message
Error Message.png
Re: .NET Framework 4.0 problem
Posted: July 12th, 2010, 9:02 pm
by limbo
After few users tested the new config file (available for download from forums)
Solution moved to http://forums.lcdsmartie.org/viewtopic. ... 594#p16594
Please follow the link and find the config file that solves the problem.
This discussion is closed!