Page 1 of 1

Warning: DLL may not be compatible

Posted: May 18th, 2008, 7:33 am
by sevensins
Hi everybody,
I am having some weird problem.
As per the topic here http://forums.lcdsmartie.org/viewtopic.php?t=1194 i compiled the source using Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Express Edition, Microsoft ? Windows Server? 2003 R2 Platform SDK, and LibUsb-Win32.

The resulting DLL works perfectly fine on the machine on which i compiled the DLL. But when every i try it on my other machine the same DLL gives me the error Warning: DLL may not be compatible. The other machine also has .NET 2.0 framework installed. :(

Am i missing something while compiling the DLL??
Steps that i have done while compiling:
1.Placed a copy of usb.h at "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\include"
2.Placed a copy of libusb.lib at"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\lib"

In the project properties i have defined
Linker >> Input >> Additional Dependencies >> libusb.lib
and
Linker >> Input >> Module Definition File >> LCD2USB.def

Hoping that someone will help me with the weird problem. :cry:

Posted: May 18th, 2008, 7:49 pm
by caesar
Is your other machine running Server2k3 also?

Have you tried the ready compiled dll?

What gives you that error? LCDSmartie? Haven't heard of this kind of error in smartie though. Maybe it's thrown as an output of that dll.

Posted: May 19th, 2008, 2:40 am
by sevensins
Both my machines are running Windows XP SP2 and not Server 2k3. The Microsoft ? Windows Server? 2003 R2 Platform SDK is required for compiling the DLL.

The error is given by LCDSmartie when i select the compiled DLL from the display driver list drop down menu.

As for the precompiled DLL yes it works on both the machine.
But since i made some changes i needed to recompile the DLL. The recompiled DLL works fine in the development machine but LCDSmartie gives that error when i select the same DLL in the other machine.

Any ideas/possible solution as to why?? :(

Posted: May 19th, 2008, 10:07 am
by caesar
Sorry, wasn't too careful when reading your first post about the server2k3.

You can try to contact the developer of the board/plugin or see if you don't miss something on the second machine, like some redistributables from VC or from the 2k3 SDK.

Posted: May 24th, 2008, 4:50 pm
by limbo
The problem must be on the Framework...
Check the following
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/netfram ... 31542.aspx