Our new official repo is on github
LCD Smartie version 5.6 is released!
Download it now: https://github.com/LCD-Smartie/LCDSmartie/releases

Need help testing combined Parallel/Serial HD44780 driver

Discussion about LCD's and other related hardware

Moderators: _X7JAY7X_, caesar, IFR, mattcro, limbo, Fast351, hydrolisk1792

Post Reply
Fast351
Developer
Posts: 233
Joined: February 17th, 2006, 3:23 pm
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Need help testing combined Parallel/Serial HD44780 driver

Post by Fast351 »

I just created a new set of display drivers, both based off the same code base (after I realized the pertelian and the HD44780 parallel displays used the same codes).

So now we have HD44780P (parallel) and HD44780S (serial) for HD44780 controlled displays.

If someone could test these on their displays I'd be grateful. The Parallel version should just fly as it wasn't modified much. The Pertelian display should now function better with the intercharacter delays....

http://home.fast351.com:4141/HD44780P.dll

http://home.fast351.com:4141/HD44780S.dll

-Mike


----Edit by Caesar----
Added mirror of the latest version here:

http://czi.uni.cc/LCDSmartie/HD44780P.dll

http://czi.uni.cc/LCDSmartie/HD44780S.dll

Groobies
Forum Supporter
Posts: 16
Joined: July 18th, 2006, 2:24 am

Post by Groobies »

Hey Mark,

Just tried loading Smarties 5.4 with the HD44780S.dll and I got the following error message:

Failed to open device: DLL Initialize error:HD44780S.DLL Exception: The handle is invalid.

Startup Parameters:
COM3,38400

on display L.I.S MCE VFD. Thanks for the effort! =D

Fast351
Developer
Posts: 233
Joined: February 17th, 2006, 3:23 pm
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Post by Fast351 »

Make sure the COM port exists. Get to your device manager, (Control Panel|System|Hardware|Device Manager) and look under Ports (COM & LPT) and see if COM3 is how that port shows up on the system.

If that's not it, try shutting down and restarting LCD Smartie. For some reason once the port is initted the driver isn't shut down properly when the parameters are changed. (I suspect this is a problem with the main program, I'll look into fixing it at a later date).

-Mike

Fast351
Developer
Posts: 233
Joined: February 17th, 2006, 3:23 pm
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Post by Fast351 »

I fixed the driver restart issue that was causing the invalid handle if you changed drivers more than once. Try this version:

http://home.fast351.com:4141/lcdsmartie.zip

Groobies
Forum Supporter
Posts: 16
Joined: July 18th, 2006, 2:24 am

Post by Groobies »

Hey Mike,

I've tested your attachment, the error was gone. However the VFD is still not working with the DLL. Yup, I've checked the corresponding COM port to be 3 as it was working with the testdriver before. I've attached a before and after pic to give you a rough idea of the display. Appreciate the effort. Thank you.

VFD working with testdriver.dll [COM3,38400,8,N,1]
Image

VFD using HD44780S.dll [COM3,38400]
Image

Fast351
Developer
Posts: 233
Joined: February 17th, 2006, 3:23 pm
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Post by Fast351 »

Just looking at the values you used for the test driver, I don't think that display is using the HD44780 command set (at least not externally). The fact that it uses 161 for line 1 and 162 for line 2 is pretty evident of that.

I'll take a look around and see if I can find a document that describes the protocol, but unfortunately it doesn't look like HD44780 over serial to me.

-Mike

Fast351
Developer
Posts: 233
Joined: February 17th, 2006, 3:23 pm
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Post by Fast351 »


Fast351
Developer
Posts: 233
Joined: February 17th, 2006, 3:23 pm
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Post by Fast351 »

Did you guys get a chance to try this yet? Specifically I'm looking for feedback on whether the custom characters work and the brightness control works.

-Mike

Groobies
Forum Supporter
Posts: 16
Joined: July 18th, 2006, 2:24 am

Post by Groobies »

Apologise for the late reply, have been busy with work. Anyway Mike, I've tried the lisvfd.dll, the report as follows:

1.The VFD fires up perfectly fine, somehow or another lines 1 and 2 get merged into the 1 line(first line) in the VFD and the VFD starts to flicker, alternating between line 1 and 2.

2.Custom characters I believe to be working fine although the above problem remains. However I can now see the winamp spectrum analyzer functioning in between flickers.

3.Using the $Chr(20) parameter, I am now able to display custom characters.

4.The VFD has turned slightly dimmer (anyway to control the brightness?)

I guess once problem 1 is fixed we're ready to roll!

Thanks!

Fast351
Developer
Posts: 233
Joined: February 17th, 2006, 3:23 pm
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Post by Fast351 »

Stay right there!

Just a minute....

Fast351
Developer
Posts: 233
Joined: February 17th, 2006, 3:23 pm
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Post by Fast351 »

OK try DLing again.

If I'm not mistaken, the custom characters should appear on chars 8-15

$Chr(8) .. $Chr(15)

Fixed the typo that sets the line location

The brightness commands I got from another post and I didn't have a chance to verify them

-Mike

Groobies
Forum Supporter
Posts: 16
Joined: July 18th, 2006, 2:24 am

Post by Groobies »

HOLY SHIT...it works! Thanks alot man! Will be monitoring it over the next couple of days and will be reporting in. Thanks once again Mike! :lol:

Fast351
Developer
Posts: 233
Joined: February 17th, 2006, 3:23 pm
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Post by Fast351 »

Did you try the brightness command (located in screen setup?)

All custom chars work as expected?

Groobies
Forum Supporter
Posts: 16
Joined: July 18th, 2006, 2:24 am

Post by Groobies »

Yup! brightness works as 'advertised' :lol:
Custom chars works as expected too!
Thanks alot dude.

Another feather in LCD Smartie's Cap =D

grooves12
Posts: 3
Joined: April 20th, 2006, 8:48 am

Post by grooves12 »


What are the proper settings for this driver?? I've tried using it with my M.play Blast device, but its not working, although I'm guessing thats probably due to the more complicated control board installed.

It just remains on the default time display.

Fast351
Developer
Posts: 233
Joined: February 17th, 2006, 3:23 pm
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Post by Fast351 »

COM1,38400 or whatever COM port you're on.

You probably have the wrong baud rate.

I should change the default to 38400

-Mike

Groobies
Forum Supporter
Posts: 16
Joined: July 18th, 2006, 2:24 am

Post by Groobies »

To locate com port please take the following steps
Fast351 wrote:Make sure the COM port exists. Get to your device manager, (Control Panel|System|Hardware|Device Manager) and look under Ports (COM & LPT) and see if COM3 is how that port shows up on the system.

-Mike
For baud rate go to Device Manager|Ports (COM & LPT)|USB Serial Port|Properties|Port Settings

Have fun! ;)

dwombat
Posts: 21
Joined: February 27th, 2007, 2:47 am

Post by dwombat »

Fast351,
I have questions.I am going to use a VLSystem LCD,serial connection.I took both of your .dlls and put them in the display folder in Smartie.Than I downloaded the zip file and installed it over the Smartie .exe in the Smartie folder.Now where do I put the lisvfd.dll.Thanks,Dennis

Fast351
Developer
Posts: 233
Joined: February 17th, 2006, 3:23 pm
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Post by Fast351 »

lisvfd is a display driver. Use that as your driver. The VL System display is HD44780, but they run their own protocol for the connection.

-Mike

dwombat
Posts: 21
Joined: February 27th, 2007, 2:47 am

Post by dwombat »

Fast351,
Thanks for the answer.I gather that I should use lisvfd driver for this display not the HD44780S.If that is correct let me know.Also if you are familar with Digikey,as I want to buy a 4x20 display w/blue backlight and white letters from them,would you have a part number you could give me,Thanks Dennis

Fast351
Developer
Posts: 233
Joined: February 17th, 2006, 3:23 pm
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Post by Fast351 »

That is correct on the driver.

I am familiar with Digikey, but I don't have a catalog in front of me, and frankly, EBay regularly has better deals on displays.

-Mike

dwombat
Posts: 21
Joined: February 27th, 2007, 2:47 am

Post by dwombat »

Fast351,
I have read that is the place to look on Ebay,but where,as I don't use it.Would you have a link there you know about and could post here.Thanks for all the help and will let you know how the driver works,dennis

Fast351
Developer
Posts: 233
Joined: February 17th, 2006, 3:23 pm
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Post by Fast351 »


dwombat
Posts: 21
Joined: February 27th, 2007, 2:47 am

Post by dwombat »

Fast351,
That second link is great,as I never thought you could buy them that cheap.I am ordering one of the 4x20 and they give a starter kit with it.Thanks again for the info,Dennis

dwombat
Posts: 21
Joined: February 27th, 2007, 2:47 am

Post by dwombat »

Fast351,
I got those LCD's from that place on Ebay,very nice.Now I got a chance to try the driver for the VLsystem POP indicator display I have.It works to a point.First the baud 38400,I had to change to 19200 to get the display to work.Than if I open setup it totally messes up the dislpay.I have to shutdown Smartie ,start again,but than I get /// and the info is off center.So than I totally shut down the PC and the display comes on with the default logo screen,I than start Smartie and everything is reading ok.My brother has a computer business in Ft Wayne,In and has five of these units and we want them to work with Smartie.What I am proposing is we will ship you a unit so you can try it out on your system with the driver.Also shipping it back to him after you are done is no charge as he has a Fedex number you will use.Let me know and I will have him call you on Skype to get your address,or you can PM me.I don't know how that works on this forum,Dennis

Post Reply