Our new official repo is on github
LCD Smartie version 5.6 is released!
Download it now: https://github.com/LCD-Smartie/LCDSmartie/releases

New info on getting Nvidia GPU temps & plugin request

Place your requests for plugins here

Moderators: _X7JAY7X_, caesar, IFR, mattcro, limbo

Post Reply
caesar
Forum Supporter
Posts: 734
Joined: October 15th, 2005, 10:39 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

New info on getting Nvidia GPU temps & plugin request

Post by caesar »

I have just found some information on a nvidia pdf called NVControlPanel_API.pdf on how to read GPU temps. Sadly i can't code anything because of my lack of knowledge.

So this is a request to the guru's for a nvidia temps plugin.

Pasting info from pdf.
Entire pdf available per PM request.
Many thanks for your great work!


NvCplGetThermalSettings()

Function Prototype
BOOL CDECL NvCplGetThermalSettings
(IN UINT nWindowsMonitorNumber,
OUT DWORD* pdwCoreTemp,
OUT DWORD* pdwAmbientTemp,
OUT DWORD* pdwUpperLimit);

Parameters In
UINT nWindowsMonitorNumber -- The display number shown on the Windows Display Properties->Settings page. A value of 0 indicates the current primary Windows display device.
DWORD* must be a valid pointer --
pdwCoreTemp -- GPU temperature in degrees Celsius.
pdwAmbientTemp -- Ambient temperature in degrees Celsius.
pdwUpperLimit -- Upper limit of the GPU temperature specification.


Return Values
True on success.
False on failure.
Workshed
Posts: 26
Joined: November 10th, 2005, 11:07 pm

Post by Workshed »

You can use MBM5 to read your graphics card temperature...
Link on how to get MBM5 to do it here then just use smartie to display that temp sensor...
caesar
Forum Supporter
Posts: 734
Joined: October 15th, 2005, 10:39 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Post by caesar »

I know there are some other complicated ways but I would prefer not too load a whole bunch of programs just to display a temperature, am using speedfan for temps but it doesn't get geforce temps just yet.

If someone takes the time to do such plugin it would be greatly appreciated.
Workshed
Posts: 26
Joined: November 10th, 2005, 11:07 pm

Post by Workshed »

I dont think it actually loads any extra programs it just allows MBM to read the temp but if you dont want to use MBM then its probably not much use :)
caesar
Forum Supporter
Posts: 734
Joined: October 15th, 2005, 10:39 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

finally got what i needed... err somewhat...

Post by caesar »

After a few days of reading documentation i managed to build a plugin that somehow reads the temp.
Only GpuTemp for the moment and needs much formatting.
I will see to it in the future.

If there is interest, i can upload it somewhere.
But for now it is in a very beta stage (have to figure out how to format the output from Double [n.nE-322] to Byte without using aditional plugins like formatting and demo).

Edit: seems I've done it! Check it out: on this thread
Post Reply