Our new official repo is on github
LCD Smartie version 5.6 is released!
Download it now: https://github.com/LCD-Smartie/LCDSmartie/releases
LCD Smartie version 5.6 is released!
Download it now: https://github.com/LCD-Smartie/LCDSmartie/releases
Can Split Title work for iTunes2 plugin?
Moderators: _X7JAY7X_, caesar, IFR, mattcro, limbo
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: March 3rd, 2010, 8:44 am
Can Split Title work for iTunes2 plugin?
I'm trying to figure out how to put the song title on the first line, followed by the artist on the second line in itues (2x20). Is this possible? I know the plugin is designed for winamp but it seems you don't have to run the plugin on winamp alone to get the effect. Any help would be great. Thanks
-
- Forum Supporter
- Posts: 590
- Joined: March 8th, 2006, 1:58 pm
- Location: Scotland
Re: Can Split Title work for iTunes2 plugin?
If the format of your titles is like Winamp's classic Artist - Song then the SplitTitle plugin should work. You can use your own separator character/string if necessary.
I use RegExp to extract Artist/Album/Song form Winamp titles - this is much more complicated but very flexible. See last few posts in http://forums.lcdsmartie.org/viewtopic. ... 40&p=15771
I use RegExp to extract Artist/Album/Song form Winamp titles - this is much more complicated but very flexible. See last few posts in http://forums.lcdsmartie.org/viewtopic. ... 40&p=15771
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: March 3rd, 2010, 8:44 am
Re: Can Split Title work for iTunes2 plugin?
This is the function for Artist-title for the itunes2 plugin
$dll(itunes2,1,Title,) This would read something like Dinosaur Jr. - Out There
I think where I am getting hung up is what you replace $WinampTitle with to make it function with iTunes
I apologize i just started working on this yesterday and it has taken me a long time to get used to things. Any chance you could show me how to split the artist title up using split title? If not I will try to figure it out
Thanks
$dll(itunes2,1,Title,) This would read something like Dinosaur Jr. - Out There
I think where I am getting hung up is what you replace $WinampTitle with to make it function with iTunes
I apologize i just started working on this yesterday and it has taken me a long time to get used to things. Any chance you could show me how to split the artist title up using split title? If not I will try to figure it out
Thanks
-
- Plugin Author
- Posts: 1604
- Joined: February 13th, 2005, 7:38 pm
- Location: Athens - Greece
- Contact:
Re: Can Split Title work for iTunes2 plugin?
test the following lines on your LCD Smartie configuration:
In case you want to use your own separator you must use the functions 11 and 12 as well, passing as second parameter the parts delimiter:
Code: Select all
$dll(splittitle,1,title1 - title2,3)
Code: Select all
$dll(splittitle,2,title1 - title2,3)
Code: Select all
$dll(splittitle,11,title1 # title2,#)
Code: Select all
$dll(splittitle,12,title1 * title2,*)
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: March 3rd, 2010, 8:44 am
Re: Can Split Title work for iTunes2 plugin?
i appreciate your post, when i enter the Title 1 and Title 2 codes I get
title 1
title 2
This is very much the desired effect but i can't wrap around how to use these codes to display the itunes songs.
I attempted to do this:
$dll(splittitle.dll,1,$dll(itunes2,1,Title,),3)
That actually worked however when the song is done playing I get an Exception error on that line.
I know that code does not look right. Any help. Sorry
title 1
title 2
This is very much the desired effect but i can't wrap around how to use these codes to display the itunes songs.
I attempted to do this:
$dll(splittitle.dll,1,$dll(itunes2,1,Title,),3)
That actually worked however when the song is done playing I get an Exception error on that line.
I know that code does not look right. Any help. Sorry
-
- Plugin Author
- Posts: 1604
- Joined: February 13th, 2005, 7:38 pm
- Location: Athens - Greece
- Contact:
Re: Can Split Title work for iTunes2 plugin?
You mean that you can split the title but when the playback is stopped the display returns error message?Russ1525 wrote: $dll(splittitle.dll,1,$dll(itunes2,1,Title,),3)
That actually worked however when the song is done playing I get an Exception error on that line.
What the error message says?
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: March 3rd, 2010, 8:44 am
Re: Can Split Title work for iTunes2 plugin?
$dll(splittitle.dll,1,$dll(itunes2,1,Title,),3) works to display the artist on whatever line I put it on so that is actually a good code
However when trying to use the Song title function to be displayed on the second line which seems like it should be:
$dll(splittitle.dll,2,$dll(itunes2,1,Title,),3)
The song title will be listed on whatever line I want it to be on while playback is occurring.
When playback is stopped i get this error message:
[Exception: Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation.: Index was outside the bounds of the array.}
However when trying to use the Song title function to be displayed on the second line which seems like it should be:
$dll(splittitle.dll,2,$dll(itunes2,1,Title,),3)
The song title will be listed on whatever line I want it to be on while playback is occurring.
When playback is stopped i get this error message:
[Exception: Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation.: Index was outside the bounds of the array.}
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: March 3rd, 2010, 8:44 am
Re: Can Split Title work for iTunes2 plugin?
Well I went ahead and installed the first itunes plug in made by Gareth Price. This one already had the codes for title and artist written out. I used that for the artist-title and use the clock code from itunes2. Works great. Thanks for all your help, in the end stick with the original itunes plug in for track titles, artist, etc, and use itunes2 for more specific functions.
-
- Forum Supporter
- Posts: 590
- Joined: March 8th, 2006, 1:58 pm
- Location: Scotland
Re: Can Split Title work for iTunes2 plugin?
I don't use iTunes, but it sounds like iTunes changes the title string to something shorter (like "iTunes", or with only 1 part instead of Artist - Title) when it stops playback. This may confuse the itunes2 plugin (or even splittitle). Winamp returns the correct title of whichever track is selected, regardless of whether it's playing or stopped.
Good to hear you have something working anyway.
Good to hear you have something working anyway.
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: May 13th, 2010, 5:34 am
Re: Can Split Title work for iTunes2 plugin?
how can i get itunes2 and other plugins
-
- Forum Supporter
- Posts: 590
- Joined: March 8th, 2006, 1:58 pm
- Location: Scotland
Re: Can Split Title work for iTunes2 plugin?
The itunes2 plugin is attached to the last post in this thread: http://forums.lcdsmartie.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=559
I don't know if it's the newest version or what... I don't use itunes so haven't tried the plugin.
I don't know if it's the newest version or what... I don't use itunes so haven't tried the plugin.