Hi All.
I'm wondering if it would be possible to write a plugin for Flight Sim. It would be really handy at times to see some vital info when it's not easy to use the dash or (for those who immediately think it) use the CTRL-Z option to display stats at the top of the screen (cos it's horrible).
The things I'm talking about wouldn't be too in depth - thinks like indicated air speed, altitude, vertical speed, nav radio frequency, fuel level, flap/spoiler status etc etc etc
Our new official repo is on github
LCD Smartie version 5.6 is released!
Download it now: https://github.com/LCD-Smartie/LCDSmartie/releases
LCD Smartie version 5.6 is released!
Download it now: https://github.com/LCD-Smartie/LCDSmartie/releases
Microsoft Flight Sim
Moderators: _X7JAY7X_, caesar, IFR, mattcro, limbo
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: September 24th, 2007, 10:28 pm
- Location: Scotland
-
- Forum Supporter
- Posts: 590
- Joined: March 8th, 2006, 1:58 pm
- Location: Scotland
It depends if FS makes this kind of info available to other programs (some kind of API calls, shared memory or something. If not, it would probably be difficult to get any info out of the game for display on and LCD.
I'm not a FS user, but I've heard of 3rd party cockpit hardware and custom game controllers that display some kind of in-game info (maybe not specific to MS Flight Sim), so it may well be possible to get Smartie to display such info.
Do you know of any other hardware or software that displays or logs flight parameters like the ones you listed?
I'm not a FS user, but I've heard of 3rd party cockpit hardware and custom game controllers that display some kind of in-game info (maybe not specific to MS Flight Sim), so it may well be possible to get Smartie to display such info.
Do you know of any other hardware or software that displays or logs flight parameters like the ones you listed?
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: September 24th, 2007, 10:28 pm
- Location: Scotland
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: February 15th, 2008, 3:45 pm
It is possible! I found small example (and source code in Delphi) on Elektor magazine web site and then I made some changes so I can display any value from FSX. Plugin actually uses data provided by FSUIPC, which is used to allow external control of FSX. If someone is interested I can upload current project.
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: September 24th, 2007, 10:28 pm
- Location: Scotland
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: July 4th, 2009, 9:54 pm
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: February 15th, 2008, 3:45 pm
Re: Microsoft Flight Sim
^ no problem, I will do it
Sorry that I didn't do this before, but it's better late than never
.
I'm uploading my version of FSSmart.dll plugin that will show few flight parameters (Indicated Altitude, Heading, Indicated Airspeed, Vertical Speed, Engine1 throttle lever position, Engine2 throttle lever position, Flaps (left) Position Indicator, Flaps (right) Position Indicator, number of Flaps increments) from FSX on your LCD !
You must install FSUIPC, because this plugin uses data provided by it, an then copy FSSmart.dll into LCDSmartie plugins directory. You should also start FSX before LCD Smartie (or at least before trying to show screen with data from FSX).
Usage Examples:
Alt:$dll(FSSmart.dll,1,0,0)$Fill(9)Hdg:$dll(FSSmart.dll,2,0,0)
IAS:$dll(FSSmart.dll,3,0,0)$Fill(9)VS:$dll(FSSmart.dll,4,0,0)
E1T:$dll(FSSmart.dll,5,0,0)%$Fill(9)E2T:$dll(FSSmart.dll,6,0,0)%
FL:$dll(FSSmart.dll,7,0,0)$Fill(7)FR:$dll(FSSmart.dll,8,0,0) FI:$dll(FSSmart.dll,9,0,0)
But this is not all !
I'm uploading FSSmart.dll source file and FSUIPC Programming manual where you will find (from page 16) table with memory locations for huge numbers of FS parameters that you can read. You just need to add more functions into project and make new dll !


Sorry that I didn't do this before, but it's better late than never

I'm uploading my version of FSSmart.dll plugin that will show few flight parameters (Indicated Altitude, Heading, Indicated Airspeed, Vertical Speed, Engine1 throttle lever position, Engine2 throttle lever position, Flaps (left) Position Indicator, Flaps (right) Position Indicator, number of Flaps increments) from FSX on your LCD !
You must install FSUIPC, because this plugin uses data provided by it, an then copy FSSmart.dll into LCDSmartie plugins directory. You should also start FSX before LCD Smartie (or at least before trying to show screen with data from FSX).
Usage Examples:
Alt:$dll(FSSmart.dll,1,0,0)$Fill(9)Hdg:$dll(FSSmart.dll,2,0,0)
IAS:$dll(FSSmart.dll,3,0,0)$Fill(9)VS:$dll(FSSmart.dll,4,0,0)
E1T:$dll(FSSmart.dll,5,0,0)%$Fill(9)E2T:$dll(FSSmart.dll,6,0,0)%
FL:$dll(FSSmart.dll,7,0,0)$Fill(7)FR:$dll(FSSmart.dll,8,0,0) FI:$dll(FSSmart.dll,9,0,0)
But this is not all !
I'm uploading FSSmart.dll source file and FSUIPC Programming manual where you will find (from page 16) table with memory locations for huge numbers of FS parameters that you can read. You just need to add more functions into project and make new dll !

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: August 23rd, 2009, 10:40 am
Re: Microsoft Flight Sim
Good nights, my name is Peio, from Bilbao, and this is my first post.
First, sorry for my bad english.
I have installed fssmart.dll and it works all OK. But when I try to install new functions for Bendix radio stack for Cessna 182, I don't manage to create new functions as to show COM1, NAV1, ident, or show AP, APR or NAV when I active them in the automatic pilot.I am not a programmer, since you see.
Someone can put an example of since they are created?
thanks you.
Good work Jerinicd
First, sorry for my bad english.


I have installed fssmart.dll and it works all OK. But when I try to install new functions for Bendix radio stack for Cessna 182, I don't manage to create new functions as to show COM1, NAV1, ident, or show AP, APR or NAV when I active them in the automatic pilot.I am not a programmer, since you see.

Someone can put an example of since they are created?
thanks you.
Good work Jerinicd
