Our new official repo is on github
LCD Smartie version 5.6 is released!
Download it now: https://github.com/LCD-Smartie/LCDSmartie/releases

Simply LCD USB connect based on FTDI chip

Discussion about LCD's and other related hardware

Moderators: _X7JAY7X_, caesar, IFR, mattcro, limbo, Fast351, hydrolisk1792

Post Reply
Nick_Shl
Posts: 5
Joined: November 6th, 2007, 11:16 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus

Simply LCD USB connect based on FTDI chip

Post by Nick_Shl »

Hi ALL!
Because my English very bad, I am will be short.

I have some modules from DLPDesign and LCD display 20x4.
Modules based on FTDI chips FT245BM and FT232BM. This modules can uses in BitBang Mode(look in docs o FTDI website). Drivers for FTDI chips and DOCs you can download from FTDI site.
I am connect FTDI chip to LCD module in 4bit mode:

Code: Select all

FT245BM   FT232BM   Bit-Bang Data bit   LCD Module
 Data0      TXD           Data0         Data4(low byte in 4bit mode)
 Data1      RXD           Data1         Data5
 Data2      RTS           Data2         Data6
 Data3      CTS           Data3         Data7(high byte in 4bit mode)
 Data4      DTR           Data4         E
 Data5      DSR           Data5         R/W
 Data6      DCD           Data6         A0
 Data7      RI            Data7         not used
And test modules with FT245BM and FT232BM - it works.

Photo of front LCD device:
Image
Photo of rear LCD device:
Image
Photo of front board:
Image
Photo of rear board:
Image
Photo of DLPDesign modules:
Image

Source code of simple driver you can download here. Its free for non commercial use and etc...(I am can't wrote a normal license and hope that you will respect my work).
This driver can use only 20x4 LCD Modules, but not difficult to make it for any screen - you can modify GotoXY() function(Except 40x4 Screen - need modify for select LCD controller chip).

whirleyes
Posts: 3
Joined: December 7th, 2007, 6:50 pm

thank you

Post by whirleyes »

Thanks.. i wil try it tonight

whirleyes
Posts: 3
Joined: December 7th, 2007, 6:50 pm

Work Great!!

Post by whirleyes »

My LCD
Image

FTDI FT245R
Image

Casing
Image

Wiring
Image

More details : http://pixca.net/blog/do-it-yourself/hd ... i-usb-lcd/

:D arigatou
Last edited by whirleyes on May 30th, 2008, 6:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

balik123
Posts: 2
Joined: December 12th, 2007, 6:56 pm

Post by balik123 »

I have a little different circuit (scheme). Nick_Shl modify your plugin for me. Very thanks to him.

My LCD and Nick_Shl plugin :)

Image

My circuit


Image

My scheme from http://lcdtousb.dpz.cz/?Sch%E9ma

Image

Very thanks. LCD Smartie is the best.

Nick_Shl
Posts: 5
Joined: November 6th, 2007, 11:16 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus

Post by Nick_Shl »

New version of plugin. Now it work with any shematic and codepages.
Downloading: Download link (from RapidShare.com).
Installation: copy FTDI_LCD.dll and FTDI_LCD.ini to <LCD Smartie>\displays directory.
Configuration: edit FTDI_LCD.ini file. For change shematic edit [HARDWARE]. For example with my shem:

Code: Select all

[HARDWARE]
D4=0
D5=1
D6=2
D7=3
E=4
RW=5
A0=6
And with Balik123 shem:

Code: Select all

[HARDWARE]
D4=4
D5=5
D6=6
D7=7
E=3
RW=-1
A0=2
Also possible convert characters, if codepage on PC not compliant with LCD. For this edit [CODEPAGE]. For example for cyrillyc alphabet:

Code: Select all

[CODEPAGE]
C0=41
C1=A0
C2=42
C3=A1
C4=E0
C5=45
C6=A3
C7=A4
C8=A5
C9=A6
CA=4B
CB=A7
CC=4D
CD=48
CE=4F
CF=A8
D0=50
D1=43
D2=54
D3=A9
D4=AA
D5=58
D6=E1
D7=AB
D8=AC
D9=E2
DA=AD
DB=AE
DC=C4
DD=AF
DE=B0
DF=B1
E0=61
E1=B2
E2=B3
E3=B4
E4=E3
E5=65
E6=B6
E7=B7
E8=B8
E9=B9
EA=BA
EB=BB
EC=BC
ED=BD
EE=6F
EF=BE
F0=70
F1=63
F2=BF
F3=79
F4=E4
F5=78
F6=E5
F7=C0
F8=C1
F9=E6
FA=C2
FB=C3
FC=C4
FD=C5
FE=C6
FF=C7
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

whirleyes
Posts: 3
Joined: December 7th, 2007, 6:50 pm

thanks Nick_Shl

Post by whirleyes »

Thanks for the driver, it really save me a lot of time.

I've spend 2 weeks trying to make my own driver before I found yours. My driver worked but there a lag from line 1 to line 4 and not so smooth.but none of those matter to me now since your driver work.Thanks again for your great work. I'll try to figure out how to make it worked with LCDproc(linux), so same hardware can be used in linux and windows

Do you mind I mirroring your driver in my website??

limbo
Plugin Author
Posts: 1604
Joined: February 13th, 2005, 7:38 pm
Location: Athens - Greece
Contact:

Post by limbo »

This project is a good approach :!:

And now its sticky.


keep on guys

Mavy
Posts: 1
Joined: March 14th, 2008, 9:57 pm

Post by Mavy »

Ive got a small issue with this driver and im wondering if there is a way around it.

When using this driver with my mcubed T-Balancer lcd-smartie will conflict with the t-blancer software. Is there a possibility of adding a com port selection to this driver?

Master1280
Posts: 20
Joined: September 15th, 2007, 7:49 pm

Mamaster

Post by Master1280 »

Circuito Testeado y funcionando

con ft232RL

animense
funciona el plugin :D


thanks for the plugin :wink:


EDIT: We all appreciate your input, but this forum is in english so anybody can follow it, please use this language from now on!

Master1280
Posts: 20
Joined: September 15th, 2007, 7:49 pm

Plugin

Post by Master1280 »

Circuit Testing and Working

with ft232RL

GO ahead

the plugin works

thanks for the plugin :wink:

From Chile
:P :P :P

locki
Posts: 8
Joined: January 13th, 2008, 7:09 pm

Post by locki »

i have trouble with this new version it dont work i use old version FTDI_LCD.dll i have balik version scheme and dll size is 229 kB, where drivers i muse for working ?

caesar
Forum Supporter
Posts: 734
Joined: October 15th, 2005, 10:39 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Post by caesar »

locki wrote:i have trouble with this new version it dont work i use old version FTDI_LCD.dll i have balik version scheme and dll size is 229 kB, where drivers i muse for working ?
In that case please download driver from this post: http://forums.lcdsmartie.org/viewtopic. ... 3371#13371

and use hardware settings for balik's schematic:

Code: Select all

[HARDWARE]
D4=4
D5=5
D6=6
D7=7
E=3
RW=-1
A0=2

locki
Posts: 8
Joined: January 13th, 2008, 7:09 pm

Post by locki »

yes this i doing :!: and it dont work with first version FTDI_LCD.dll library for balik by Nick_Shl ?

with new version i have clen display no charts - no 2 lines full chatrs

in system -win xp pro in USB devices i have FTDI FT8U2XX Device it is ok ?

caesar
Forum Supporter
Posts: 734
Joined: October 15th, 2005, 10:39 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Post by caesar »

It only works with this version: http://rapidshare.com/files/86780134/FTDI_LCD.zip.html and the configuration I posted earlier.

locki
Posts: 8
Joined: January 13th, 2008, 7:09 pm

Post by locki »

caesar wrote:It only works with this version: http://rapidshare.com/files/86780134/FTDI_LCD.zip.html and the configuration I posted earlier.
you sit on wire from eyes to brain ? :D seriously im kiding

we dont understand my trouble :( sry for my bad english

i use balik123 scheme, display driver FTDI_LCD.dll ( it is firt version for balik123 scheme it is special - other data wire conection) ,lcd_smartie_v5.4.1

i want use new version - http://rapidshare.com/files/86780134/FTDI_LCD.zip.html with cofigure for balik scheme ...

Code: Select all

[HARDWARE] 
D4=4 
D5=5 
D6=6 
D7=7 
E=3 
RW=-1 
A0=2
etc ..........

old version works fine
Image
Image

old settings:

Image

all works this is OK

and now is question :-)

i want use new version i have in FTDI_LCD. ini

[HARDWARE]
D4=4
D5=5
D6=6
D7=7
E=3
RW=-1
A0=2

startup parameter i test USB, LCD, and nothing what i doing wrong ?

i must find this error :twisted:

Master1280
Posts: 20
Joined: September 15th, 2007, 7:49 pm

lcd

Post by Master1280 »

hi locky

D: englich

i made a 6 usb to HD44780 circuit since now

and i discover that the plugin not suport the exange of wires
of the bitbang mode

in order that you must follow only the first diagram

that says

FT232BM Bit-Bang Data bit
TXD Data0 Data4
RXD Data1 Data5
RTS Data2 Data6
CTS Data3 Data7
DTR Data4 E
DSR Data5 R/W
DCD Data6 A0
RI Data7 not used


garbage, the first post say the order D:

the problem is the driver of bitbang it must follow a specify orden
to work

Latvian3Dman
Posts: 26
Joined: September 10th, 2008, 10:00 am

Post by Latvian3Dman »

Hello all!
Thanks to everyone who made this USB LCD possible! :)
I tried it too, with FT232 developpement module, and it works perfectly.
For me, this is third (!) USB-LCD solution i have made. First two are these:

http://lcdtousb.dpz.cz/
http://forums.bit-tech.net/showthread.php?t=115461

Actually, I would like to ask a question to whirleyes: are those OLED displayes? I also have one 4x20, but I dont know anymore where to get some of these. Could you please share knowledge where I can buy OLED displays now? Many thanks in advance! :)

caesar
Forum Supporter
Posts: 734
Joined: October 15th, 2005, 10:39 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Post by caesar »

That is an inverted display, like the blue background - white text ones, only they are black background - some color text. If you get close to them you can see the backlight.

Another example of that kind of display is here (with RGB text color): http://forums.lcdsmartie.org/viewtopic. ... 4018#14018

xbox1
Posts: 10
Joined: September 22nd, 2008, 7:11 pm
Location: ChongQing,CHINA

Post by xbox1 »

locki can you puton your schema on ?

I can't buy Image

So I already buy chip(ft245bm) I will made it myself...

THANKS

xbox1
Posts: 10
Joined: September 22nd, 2008, 7:11 pm
Location: ChongQing,CHINA

Post by xbox1 »

locki , can you put on your schema ???

locki
Posts: 8
Joined: January 13th, 2008, 7:09 pm

Post by locki »

i use scheme from: http://lcdtousb.dpz.cz/

markazik
Posts: 2
Joined: November 23rd, 2008, 11:38 am

Post by markazik »

Hello

If someone is interested, may find here scheme for connection USB232M with LCD display.

I hope that it helps.

Kazik

Image

brunosso
Posts: 2
Joined: June 17th, 2008, 5:47 pm

Post by brunosso »

hi guys! i need to connect my 20x4 hd44780 lcd via usb! i found this PC like dlpdesign!

is the same? work like the dlp?

usb232

usb245

tnx in advance

caesar
Forum Supporter
Posts: 734
Joined: October 15th, 2005, 10:39 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Plugin

Post by caesar »

Hi brunosso!

A user reported that it works with ft232RL chip, so in theory the usb232 module from your link should work.
Another user reported that it works with ft245R chip, so the other module should work too.

Bottomline: in theory both modules should work! You will have to look for the connections because the modules have different pinouts.
I cannont guarantee 100%, but they sure look like they are ok.

Hint: If you have soldering skills, a FT232R chip is around 1-2 Euros!

Good luck!


Master1280 wrote:Circuit Testing and Working

with ft232RL

GO ahead

the plugin works

thanks for the plugin :wink:

From Chile
:P :P :P
whirleyes wrote:My LCD
Image

FTDI FT245R
Image

Casing
Image

Wiring
Image

More details : http://pixca.net/blog/do-it-yourself/hd ... i-usb-lcd/

:D arigatou

brunosso
Posts: 2
Joined: June 17th, 2008, 5:47 pm

Re: Plugin

Post by brunosso »

caesar wrote:Hi brunosso!

A user reported that it works with ft232RL chip, so in theory the usb232 module from your link should work.
Another user reported that it works with ft245R chip, so the other module should work too.

Bottomline: in theory both modules should work! You will have to look for the connections because the modules have different pinouts.
I cannont guarantee 100%, but they sure look like they are ok.

Hint: If you have soldering skills, a FT232R chip is around 1-2 Euros!

Good luck!


Master1280 wrote:Circuit Testing and Working

with ft232RL

GO ahead

the plugin works

thanks for the plugin :wink:

From Chile
:P :P :P
whirleyes wrote:My LCD
Image

FTDI FT245R
Image

Casing
Image

Wiring
Image

More details : http://pixca.net/blog/do-it-yourself/hd ... i-usb-lcd/

:D arigatou
thank you caesar!! i bought the dlp 232 on ebay

this is the link DLP-USB232M

Post Reply