Our new official repo is on github
LCD Smartie version 5.6 is released!
Download it now: https://github.com/LCD-Smartie/LCDSmartie/releases
LCD Smartie version 5.6 is released!
Download it now: https://github.com/LCD-Smartie/LCDSmartie/releases
Action plugin - Buttons
Moderators: _X7JAY7X_, caesar, IFR, mattcro, limbo
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: June 7th, 2005, 11:38 pm
Action plugin - Buttons
Alright, going nuts here and hoping someone can help out.
I have a display I ripped out of a defunct display unit which works with Smartie. Now, i'm going to use this in my CarPC project..which isn't the problem.
I'd like to set up some buttons around it that'll be able to trigger the Actions (next screen, etc). I know I can use the keyboard for it, but Smartie won't be in the foreground. So, i'm wondering if it's possible to make a plugin that'll 'watch' the PS/2 port for a keyboard input, or at least snag the key when it's not in focus.. Or even create a hotkey that'll wake it up to pay attention..or something..
Basically, I want to be able to hit a button (contact closure), and switch to the next screen without bringing Smartie into focus. Even if I can't do the 'hacking the keyboard' method, anyone have any easy ideas? Or rather, cheap?
Or am I just crazy?
I have a display I ripped out of a defunct display unit which works with Smartie. Now, i'm going to use this in my CarPC project..which isn't the problem.
I'd like to set up some buttons around it that'll be able to trigger the Actions (next screen, etc). I know I can use the keyboard for it, but Smartie won't be in the foreground. So, i'm wondering if it's possible to make a plugin that'll 'watch' the PS/2 port for a keyboard input, or at least snag the key when it's not in focus.. Or even create a hotkey that'll wake it up to pay attention..or something..
Basically, I want to be able to hit a button (contact closure), and switch to the next screen without bringing Smartie into focus. Even if I can't do the 'hacking the keyboard' method, anyone have any easy ideas? Or rather, cheap?
Or am I just crazy?
-
- Hardware Genie - Plugin Author
- Posts: 374
- Joined: February 16th, 2005, 10:24 pm
- Location: Michigan
I have made a serial interface for this, but there wasnt much interest and it is kind of involved of what it does.
I now have moved on to adding buttons using the gameport, kind of like a joystick input. I have got this working on my home PC that created the software but it will not work on any other computers without erroring out. I successfully can control 4 buttons so far and hope to take this number up around 8, maybe more.
Let me know if your interested.
J
I now have moved on to adding buttons using the gameport, kind of like a joystick input. I have got this working on my home PC that created the software but it will not work on any other computers without erroring out. I successfully can control 4 buttons so far and hope to take this number up around 8, maybe more.
Let me know if your interested.
J
-
- Hardware Genie - Plugin Author
- Posts: 374
- Joined: February 16th, 2005, 10:24 pm
- Location: Michigan
I have a beta version of the new gameport buttons plugin available. Those who want to test it let me know. I have not had a chance to work on the hardware for it, so if you want to test it you will need to use a joystick or gamepad.
I should be able to have a schematic for the hardware available within the next week.
J
I should be able to have a schematic for the hardware available within the next week.
J
-
- Hardware Genie - Plugin Author
- Posts: 374
- Joined: February 16th, 2005, 10:24 pm
- Location: Michigan
-
- Hardware Genie - Plugin Author
- Posts: 42
- Joined: June 28th, 2005, 3:42 am
- Location: Australia
I think i can help
Hello, im new around here. I just built my first lcd, but i think i may be able to help. I know a bit of c++, VB6 (and php, but thats no use here) and have an interest in electronics. I was thinking that you could make a keyboard style thing by using a resistor chain on the analog joystick port. If you are trying to get anything from the gameport, you are best looking at directx or SDL, but you may have a better solution i haven't heard of.

1 + 5 Vdc + 5 Vdc
2 Joystick A, Button 1 Joystick A, Button 1
3 Joystick A, X Axis Joystick A, X Axis <--- Resistor chain here
4 Ground Ground*
5 Ground Ground
6 Joystick A, Y Axis Joystick A, Y Axis <--- Resistor chain here
7 Joystick A, Button 2 Joystick A, Button 2
8 + 5 Vdc + 5 Vdc*
9 + 5 Vdc + 5 Vdc
10 Joystick B, Button 1 Joystick B, Button 1
11 Joystick B, X Axis Joystick B, X Axis <--- Resistor chain here
12 Ground MIDI RxD
13 Joystick B, Y Axis Joystick B, Y Axis <--- Resistor chain here
14 Joystick B, Button 2 Joystick B, Button 2
15 + 5 Vdc MIDI TxD
*could be used to power an lcd

1 + 5 Vdc + 5 Vdc
2 Joystick A, Button 1 Joystick A, Button 1
3 Joystick A, X Axis Joystick A, X Axis <--- Resistor chain here
4 Ground Ground*
5 Ground Ground
6 Joystick A, Y Axis Joystick A, Y Axis <--- Resistor chain here
7 Joystick A, Button 2 Joystick A, Button 2
8 + 5 Vdc + 5 Vdc*
9 + 5 Vdc + 5 Vdc
10 Joystick B, Button 1 Joystick B, Button 1
11 Joystick B, X Axis Joystick B, X Axis <--- Resistor chain here
12 Ground MIDI RxD
13 Joystick B, Y Axis Joystick B, Y Axis <--- Resistor chain here
14 Joystick B, Button 2 Joystick B, Button 2
15 + 5 Vdc MIDI TxD
*could be used to power an lcd

-
- Hardware Genie - Plugin Author
- Posts: 374
- Joined: February 16th, 2005, 10:24 pm
- Location: Michigan
The plugin is done, it could use some cleanup and testing but it is mostily done. It does use directx. It actually uses a VB6 activex dll for the joystick input, and a VB.Net dll for the smartie end of it.
I can get it to read in presses on joysticks I have laying around and I have a good idea on how to make the hardware, but I do not have the time right now.
If you are interested in messing with it I can send you the plugin.
J
I can get it to read in presses on joysticks I have laying around and I have a good idea on how to make the hardware, but I do not have the time right now.
If you are interested in messing with it I can send you the plugin.
J
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: July 5th, 2005, 12:51 am
-
- Hardware Genie - Plugin Author
- Posts: 42
- Joined: June 28th, 2005, 3:42 am
- Location: Australia
-
- Hardware Genie - Plugin Author
- Posts: 374
- Joined: February 16th, 2005, 10:24 pm
- Location: Michigan
Here is the link to the completed plugin. I will have to find the sources for you later, it is a complete mess on my computer...... I barely found this.
http://www.geocities.com/jjacobs20/Buttons.zip
Once you unzip the .dll's to the smartie plugins directory run the .bat to register the .dll (THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT, IT WILL NOT WORK IF YOU DO NOT REGISTER THE .DLL)
The joystick MUST BE installed through the control panel gaming options. If it is not installed in windows this plugin will not work.
As for a simple schematic, I had this for a two button joystick.
http://www.geocities.com/jjacobs20/sample.gif
You should not need the two resistors shown, try taking them out, it should work.
This is as far as I got. With a little hardware, maybe even making a new windows driver for you hardware, you should get 8 buttons to work successfully.
If anyone has question please email or pm me. I try to check this site once a day but sometimes it is not possible.
J[/img]
http://www.geocities.com/jjacobs20/Buttons.zip
Once you unzip the .dll's to the smartie plugins directory run the .bat to register the .dll (THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT, IT WILL NOT WORK IF YOU DO NOT REGISTER THE .DLL)
The joystick MUST BE installed through the control panel gaming options. If it is not installed in windows this plugin will not work.
As for a simple schematic, I had this for a two button joystick.
http://www.geocities.com/jjacobs20/sample.gif
You should not need the two resistors shown, try taking them out, it should work.
This is as far as I got. With a little hardware, maybe even making a new windows driver for you hardware, you should get 8 buttons to work successfully.
If anyone has question please email or pm me. I try to check this site once a day but sometimes it is not possible.
J[/img]
-
- Hardware Genie - Plugin Author
- Posts: 374
- Joined: February 16th, 2005, 10:24 pm
- Location: Michigan
-
- Hardware Genie - Plugin Author
- Posts: 374
- Joined: February 16th, 2005, 10:24 pm
- Location: Michigan
I believe its Direct X. The joystick has to be installed in the control panel/gaming options first before it will work. So I dont think it matters if the joystick is USB or not. My original plan was to start with a 2 button joystick and expand on that(eventually 8 buttons). This project has been set aside right now, but please post what you come up with.
Thanks
J
Thanks
J