Page 1 of 3

Vista Tests... The bright side

PostPosted: October 4th, 2006, 7:38 am
by limbo
Finally decided to move on Vista 32bit(for a short period of time) and make some tests with my software...

I was suprised when I tried to run the latest beta of LCD Smartie! I ensure you: there was not a single issue running up to three instances of LCD Smartie.

I have used:
:arrow: A Matrix Orbilal serial connection using a PCI card serial port (Com 6).
:arrow: An usb LCD using serial port emulation (Com 3).
:arrow: And finally, the part I'm really impressed of, a parallel connection of HD44780 based LCD module.

The next step is to check plugins one by one and report here.

WELCOME VISTA - LONG LIVE TO LCD SMARTIE \:D/

what beta version?

PostPosted: October 31st, 2006, 6:09 am
by mo
How do you install the beta version and setup the parallel port in Vista?

Re: what beta version?

PostPosted: October 31st, 2006, 8:08 am
by limbo
mo wrote:How do you install the beta version and setup the parallel port in Vista?

The latest beta needs just an extraction to a folder (no setup available :oops:).
The parallel port is configured as in other win versions.
More on LCD Smartie site: http://lcdsmartie.sourceforge.net/mainscreen.html

frontview works...

PostPosted: October 31st, 2006, 4:27 pm
by mo
Frontview works so display is working. When I extract latest beta i get an error message setting to parrallel port and bugreport says couldn't write config file. So checking sure enough the file is read only so I change it to writeable and the error goes away but still doesnt make display work. No errors.

PostPosted: October 31st, 2006, 5:29 pm
by limbo
Use administrator level account or run as admin :wink:

Vista UAC

PostPosted: November 1st, 2006, 5:20 am
by mo
Vista has a feature called User Account Control. When I diabled it LCDSmartie started working.

Re: Vista UAC

PostPosted: November 1st, 2006, 5:01 pm
by limbo
mo wrote:Vista has a feature called User Account Control. When I diabled it LCDSmartie started working.


Yes right! you have to go under the system configuration utility (press Winkey + R >type msconfig > click OK) and in the tools tab you have to select the "Disable user account control" and launch button.

This was the first tweak I had made in this new OS! (didn't noticed because it was already applied to my OS)
Thanks mo

PostPosted: November 26th, 2006, 5:45 pm
by Durfman
I don't mind running it as an admin for now, but are you going to look into why it needs to elevate? I'm not turning off UAC, so that is not an option. I'd really like to have it start up when Windows starts and I can't do that because I have to consent to it starting.

Thanks!
Rob

PostPosted: December 5th, 2006, 7:05 pm
by nosoul4u
Has any testing been done to verify if it works on Vista 64bit or WinXP x64?

PostPosted: December 26th, 2006, 6:23 am
by Muk
I believe any app that writes files needs admin priviledges if writing to a non-user directory under Vista. I am trying out my parallel port LCD on Vista in a few days!

PostPosted: December 26th, 2006, 10:52 pm
by Muk
I am trying to get my paralel port LCD working on Vista 32bit. Disabled UAC. Still getting DLPortIO.sys not loaded after trying the reg tweak and reinstalling. Any ideas?

PostPosted: December 26th, 2006, 11:23 pm
by limbo
Muk wrote:I am trying to get my paralel port LCD working on Vista 32bit. Disabled UAC. Still getting DLPortIO.sys not loaded after trying the reg tweak and reinstalling. Any ideas?


As An Admin?

PostPosted: December 26th, 2006, 11:45 pm
by Muk
Yes, Im admin, set Start to 1, tried compatibility mode, what version of LCDSmartie are you running?

PostPosted: December 26th, 2006, 11:56 pm
by Muk
Needed to run the portio installer in winxp compatibility mode to make sure dlportio.sys was copied to win/system32/drivers. Works now but network statistics like upstream/downstream always read 0...

PostPosted: February 10th, 2007, 2:22 am
by Coolit
Hi All,

I've been using Smartie for a while now in XP and love it :) but I've moved to Vista Premium 64bit last night and cant get it working with my parallel 4x20 LCD.

I tried to run port95nt as above ( in compatibility mode/admin) but the install fails stating its not a 64bit application, obviously running Smartie without port95nt being installed doesn't work either. I am however able to run Smartie without error, it just wont connect to my parallel port.

Any ideas?